Scotland County Memorial Library became a tax supported library in 1958. The library is governed by a five member Board of Trustees appointed by the Scotland County Commissioners. Sources of funding include property taxes, state aid, Grants, gifts and memorials.

The present facility was built with a gift from Miss Mary Sanders as a memorial for her brothers and with a LSCA Title II grant. The dedication of the new building was held on January 20, 1991.

Board of Trustees

  • President: Janet Brewer
  • Vice-President: Pam Shalley
  • Secretary: Beth Johnson
  • Treasurer: Delinda McQuoid 
  • Member: Scott Hathaway


How to Get a Library Card:

Any resident of Scotland County, who is at least 6 years old, may receive a library card. Identification & proof of current address must be presented when applying for a library card.

Non-residents of Scotland County may receive a library card for an annual fee of $15.00 per year per household.

A limit of 6 items may be checked out at one time on a new card, only 2 of which may be DVDs. After 3 months, a patron in good standing may check out more than 6 items.

Library materials may not be checked out without a card.

Loan periods:

 -Books:  2 weeks

​ -Magazines:  2 weeks

 -DVDs:  1 week, 1 renewal, 7 titles per household unless the library card is less than 3 months old. Only 2 DVDs per household may be checked out on a library card that is less than 3 months old.

 -Audiobooks & CDs: 2 weeks

Books, periodicals, and audiobooks may be renewed twice for an additional two weeks. Renewals may be done in the library or by phone. Items may be renewed on the OPAC if there are no overdues and the patron has set up a PIN number with library staff.


 DVDs   $1.50 per day